San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

Indianapolis, Ind. – The Texas State women’s golf team has been selected to play in the NCAA Division I Central Regional Championships on May 8-10 at the University of Texas Golf Club in Austin, Texas.

The Bobcats automatically qualified for the NCAA Tournament after winning the Southland Conference championship on April 21-23. There will be 324 players competing at each of the three regional championships.

Texas State will compete against UCLA, Purdue, Alabama, Denver, Kent State, Pepperdine, LSU, Texas A&M, Notre Dame, Texas, TCU, Florida State, North Carolina State, East Tennessee State, Texas Tech, Washington, Nebraska, Harvard, Illinois State and Farleigh Dickinson at the Central Regional Championships.

In addition, Steffi Kirchmayr from the College of Charleston, Sara Wikstrom from Arkansas-Little Rock and Araceli Felgueroso of Coastal Carolina compete as individuals.

The other two NCAA Division I Regional Championships will be played at Lincoln Hills Golf Club in Lincoln, Calif., and hosted by Sacramento State and at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga. on May 8-10.

There will be eight teams and two individual players from each Regional Championship advancing to the NCAA Division I Championship Finals that will be played May 20-23 at the University of New Mexico Championship Golf Course in Albuquerque, N.M.

Sports Information Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.