San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

Lynn Gustafsson wins individual medalist honors as Bobcats win their second league title since 2002

Beaumont, Texas – Shooting just five-over-par during the final nine holes on the final day of the tournament, the Texas State women’s golf team rebounded from a slow start and won the 2008 Southland Conference Championship. The Bobcats ended the three-day tournament with a team score of 907 on the par 71, 6069-yard course at the Beaumont Country Club.

This marks the second time the Bobcats have won the Southland Conference team championships since the league began sponsoring women’s golf in 2002. Ironically, Texas State’s won its first team championship at the Beaumont Country Club in 2002.

The Bobcats began the final round leading the team standings by four strokes after posting team scores of 300 in each of the first two rounds at the tournament. But, Texas State watched that lead disappear on the first nine holes of the day when Lamar opened the day shooting 12-over-par as a team on its home course. Lamar was leading the tournament by five strokes before Texas State rallied back.

Texas State made six birdies and finished the final nine holes of the day shooting a 5-over-par 149 as a team to claim its second SLC championship since 2002.

The Bobcats won the team title by three strokes over Lamar and Sam Houston State after posting a team score of 307 on the final day. Lamar and Sam Houston State tied for second place at 910. UTSA finished in fourth place with a team score of 931 and Central Arkansas rounded out the top five scores with a team score of 932.

Texas State’s Lynn Gustafsson was the individual medalist as she led the tournament wire-to-wire and set a Conference record score of 7-over-par 220. The previous record was held by Stephanie Page of Sam Houston State, who fired a score of 221 at last year’s tournament.

Gustafsson shot a 6-over-par 77 in the final round, but her overall score was still good enough to hold off Nicole Forshner of Central Arkansas and Jennifer Heinz of Sam Houston State, who tied for second place with a 225 total.

Lacy McKinley of McNeese State and Hillary Ziegler of Lamar tied for fourth place with a 13-over-par total of 226, while Texas State’s Sehee Kim tied Laura Baker of UTSA and Landa Stewart of Sam Houston State for sixth place with a three-day total score of 227.

Ani Carrillo of Sam Houston State and Ashley Watkins of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi rounded out the top 10 players as they tied for ninth place with a score of 228.

Texas State’s Caitlin Bliss and Christine Brijalba tied Theresa Nilsson of Lamar for 16th place in the individual standings with three-day totals of 233. Bliss had Texas State’s best score in the third round as she shot a 3-over-par 74 to move up 13 spots in the standings. She opened the tournament with an 80 and 79 in the first two rounds, respectively.

Brijalba also climbed up five spots in the individual standings with a 6-over-par 77 in the final round after shooting a 78 in each of the first two rounds.

Trine Mortensen finished the tournament tied with Melissa Fahey of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi and Maria Jaramillo of Central Arkansas for 21st place with a three-day total of 236. Mortensen finished the tournament with an 83 on the final day after shooting a 76 and 77 in the first two rounds.

With the victory, Texas State earns an automatic berth into the NCAA Midwest Regional Tournament that will be played at the University of Texas Golf Club on May 8-10 in Austin.

Sports Information Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.