San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

April 24th, 2008
Texas State Athletics Honors The Academic Achievements For 88 Student-Athletes

Texas State Athletics Honors The Academic Achievements For 88 Student-Athletes At The Oak Farms Dairy Awards Ceremony

Boasting 88 student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, the Texas State Athletics Department honored the academic achievements of its student-athletes at its 2008 Oak Farms Dairy Academic Awards Ceremony.

The ceremony featured 28 Bobcats who received the Cream of the Crop awards, which were given to student-athletes who earned a 4.0 grade point average (GPA) in one or both of the 2007 spring and fall semesters. This year’s Cream of the Crop award winners included baseball players Luke Cannon and Aaron Taylor; football players Nick Clark, Travis Houston and Nate Langford; track and field’s Jarrod Buddin and Nicholas Fowler; softball players Kelsey Cammarata, Jill Kloesel and Haley Koop; women’s basketball players Marie Moser, Erica Putnam, and Shandryn Trumble; women’s soccer players Laura Burden, Kristy Collison, Erin Mursch and Jessica Smith; women’s tennis players Ashley Ellis, Ali Gulida and Rabea Hartmann, along with women’s track and field’s Heather Bullin, Jannah Evans, Taylor Hubbard, Heather Martinez, Lauren McKenna, Mary Beth O’Connor and Brittany Rosen.

The men’s golf and women’s tennis teams earned the Emmett Shelton Team Academic Awards, which were giving to the male and female athletics teams the earned the highest GPA during the 2007 spring and fall semesters.

A $1000 Outstanding Male Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship and the Dr. Jean Smith Outstanding Female Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship awards went to the male and female in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements and potential for success in postgraduate study. This year’s winners were Nick Clark and Joyce Ekworomadu.

The women’s award is named after Dr. Jean Smith, who came to Texas State in 1953 and was the chair of the Women’s Physical Education Department until 1970. She continued teaching in the Dept. of Health, Physical Education and Recreation until her retirement in 1984, when she established the $1,000 postgraduate scholarship. During her tenure, she helped establish the first state athletic organization for women, the Commission of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, which governed all women’s athletics in the state until 1982.

Clark also was named the men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winner and softball’s Jill Kloesel was the recipient of the women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. These awards were given to the student-athletes who excelled in academics, demonstrated quailities of leadership, and provided service to the University and the community. They also were junior or senior letter winners and had at least a GPA over 3.2. The other student-athletes nominated by their coaches include baseball’s Steven Siers, golf’s Ben Campbell and Christine Brijalba, track and field’s Dmitri Kabakov and Tenley Determan, basketball’s Joyce Ekworomadu, soccer’s Jerelyn Lemmie and volleyball’s Emily Wilkes.

Eleven student-athletes were named to the 2007 Spring and Fall Academic All-Southland Conference teams. They included baseball’s Justin Fiske and Aaron Garza, basketball’s Joyce Ekworomadu, football’s Travis Houston, Nate Langford and Nick Clark, volleyball’s Emily Wilkes and women’s track and field’s Tenley Determan, Katya Kostetskaya and Liudmila Litvinova.

Litvinova received the 2007 Southland Conference Student-Athlete of the Year award during the 2007 spring semester, while Clark was named the Southland Conference Student-Athlete of the Year award and one of 15 finalists nationwide for the 2007 Draddy Trophy last fall.

In addition, each of the following student-athletes were named to the 2007 Hibernia Bank/Southland Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll in 2007 after they maintained a 3.0 or better GPA and were officially included on the NCAA squad list for each sport. They are: baseball’s Elliott Babcock, Luke Cannon, Justin Fiske, Paul Goldschmidt, Steven Siers, Aaron Taylor, Zach Tritz, Steven Vidaurri; football’s Phillip Alexander, Blake Burton, Nick Clark, Travis Houston, Steven Kenney, Nate Langford, Freddy Paige, Chase Pulliam, Brian Quackenbush, Paul Sienkiewich, Collin Stubbs and Will Thompson; men’s basketball’s John Rybak and Gordon Taylor; men’s golfers Ben Campbell, Philip Krebsbach, Cole Lewis and Oscar Zetterwall, men’s track and field’s Jarrod Buddin, Nicholas Fowler, Dmitri Kabakov and Matt Novak; softball players Leah Boatright, Kelsey Cammarata, Lacey Duncan, Taylor Hall, Jill Kloesel, Haley Koop, Alex Newton, Ashton Peters, Allyce Rother, Kristina Tello and Jetta Weinheimer; volleyball players Emily Wilkes and Amy Weigle, women’s basketball team members Brooke DeGrate, Joyce Ekworomadu, Marie Moser, Erica Putnam, Shandryn Trumble and Elyse Wright; women’s golfers Amy Glazier and Trine Mortensen; soccer players Laura Burden, Kristy Collison, Britney Curry, Reagan McNutt, Erin Mursch and Jessica Smith; women’s tennis players Amanda Alvarado, Lainy Chafitz, Ashley Ellis, Mackenzie Farmer, Andrea Giraldo, Ali Gulida, Rabea Hartmann and Natalie McLeod; along with Liat Anav, Courtney Baker, Heather Bullin, Camilla Davis, Tenley Determan, Brookelyn Dickson, Jannah Evans, Katie Evans, Brooke Hewitt, Taylor Hubbard, Heather Martinez, Jiovanna Martinez, Lindsey Maxwell, Lauren McKenna, Amanda McKinney, Mary Beth O’Connor, Erin Oliver, Whitney Perkins, Karissa Reiter, Veronica Rodriguez, Brittany Rosen, Rebekah Vickers and Jaime Whiteside from the women’s track and field team.

Sports Information Director

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.