San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

March 10th, 2008
Texas State Wins The NCAA/Southland Conference Pack The House Challenge


SAN MARCOS – Texas State was named one of 32 winners in the NCAA Division I “Pack the House” Challenge.
Schools urged fans to “Pack the House” for selected women’s basketball games from January 1 through February 17. And pack the house, they did. Almost two-thirds of the Division I membership – 198 institutions – participated in the effort that attracted more than 592,000 fans.

Texas State hosted a record 2,546 fans at its women’s basketball game on January 31 against Stephen F. Austin. The Bobcats distributed tickets to local elementary schools who have taken part in the Bobcats and Books reading program throughout the year, and the game between Texas State and Stephen F. Austin was also televised on Fox Sports Southwest.

Events at Duke, Louisville, Marist, Navy, Oklahoma State and Presbyterian produced sell-out crowds. Seventy other programs surpassed their single-game attendance highs from last year.

“Pack the House” is a first-year national effort in which conferences and institutions compete to build attendance. One winner from each of the 31 conferences and one from a group of independent institutions were named. Selections were based on marketing plan creativity and attendance criteria. The NCAA will award prizes and donate $500 to the nonprofit organization of each winning institution’s choice.

“We believe the effort motivated schools to attract new fans to our game,” said NCAA Vice President for Women’s Basketball Sue Donohoe. “Campuses devoted additional time and resources to the competition. We are already being asked for information about next year. New alliances were formed among conference offices, member institutions and (NCAA) national office staff that will only strengthen efforts in the future.”

America East – Hartford
Atlantic 10 – Rhode Island
ACC – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – Lipscomb
Big 12 – Oklahoma State
Big East – Louisville
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Michigan
CAA – Delaware
Conference USA – East Carolina
Horizon – Youngstown State
Ivy – Columbia
MAAC – Marist
MAC – Miami (Ohio)
MEAC – North Carolina A&T
Missouri Valley – Evansville
Mountain West – Brigham Young
NEC – Wagner
Ohio Valley – Eastern Illinois
Pac-10 – UCLA
Patriot – Lehigh
SEC – South Carolina
Southland – Texas State

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.