San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas
Email Email | Print Print --

January 30th, 2008
Filing for school board starts Feb. 9

From staff reports

Three San Marcos school district board members are up for re-election in May. Theoretically.

Last year’s race between Ruben Becerra and Kathy Hansen was the first contested race in four years and nearly every current member ran unopposed their current term. After the board’s less-than-rigorous oversight of construction projects, the current batch of incumbents may not get free passes if they run.

Joe Castillo (District 1), Margie Villalpando (District 2) and Lupe Costilla (District 3) all have terms expiring this spring. Castillo, the current board’s secretary, has been a board members since 2001. Villalpando, the current vice president was first elected in 2004, and Costillo’s first election was in 1994.

February 9 First day to file for place on ballot
March 10 Last day to file for place on ballot
March 10 Last day to order general election
March 11 First day to apply for ballot by mail
April 10 Last day to register to vote
April 28 First day of early voting
May 2 Last day to apply for mail ballot requests accepted
May 6 Last day of early voting
May 10 Election Day

The terms for trustees Judy Allen and Tom Brown expire in 2009, and the terms for Kathy Hansen and Peter Baen expire in 2010.

Email Email | Print Print


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.