- San Marcos Mercury | Local News from San Marcos and Hays County, Texas - http://smmercury.com -

Narvaiz elected CAPCOG chair

AUSTIN — San Marcos Mayor Susan Narvaiz was elected 2008 Chair of the Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG) this week at the annual meeting of the ten-county regional agency.

“Local governments working together through an organization like CAPCOG can maximize their impact on every issue that affects us whether its air quality, homeland security, or economic development so many issues cross city and county boundaries requiring coordination and collaboration,” Narvaiz said.

CAPCOG is one of 24 regional councils of government designated by the Governor’s Office as state planning regions and oversees programs that include emergency 9-1-1, criminal justice planning, law enforcement training, homeland security, solid waste planning and funding, services for seniors, GIS mapping, air quality monitoring, and economic development. CAPCOG has also implemented a regional transportation planning effort to provide a venue for all local elected officials to participate in policy, legislative, and program issues.

“Mayor Narvaiz is one of those elected officials who can combine the right level of vision with a practical approach to government,” CAPCOG Executive Director Betty Voights said after the annual meeting, “our staff enjoys working with her and we look forward to a great year.”

Also elected as CAPCOG Officers were Travis County Judge Sam Biscoe, First Vice Chair; Bee Cave Mayor Caroline Murphy, Second Vice Chair; and Hays County Commissioner Will Conley, Secretary.

Narvaiz has served on CAPCOG’s executive committee since first being elected San Marcos mayor in 2004 and has been an executive committee officer for three years.

— City of San Marcos press release